Skip to main content

Why I stopped eating Mozzarella Cheese

I have never been a huge fan of cheese, and the one cheese I like is mozzarella. My son likes many types of cheese, and mozzarella is his favorite too. It is only recently that we found out that mozzarella cheese is made using rennet, which is a complex of  enzymes from the fourth stomach chamber of a calf. Here is a link to information about rennet. I couldn't digest the fact that young calves were being killed to make cheese. When I was young, my family had cows and we used to treat the cows and their calves as part of the family. The cow will be milked only after the calf had its share and all kids used to love the calves so much. To even think of killing the poor little thing for my cheese is beyond me. Besides, cow is sacred for Hindus and consumption of beef is a strict no.

After hearing this, my son tried researching on cheese made with vegetarian rennet, which comes from certain plants that have the ability to coagulate milk. He found out that certain brands have vegetarian cheeses. For instance, all of Organic Valley's cheeses use only vegetarian rennet. Now the source of vegetarian rennet can be many things ranging from simple fig juice to genetically modified organisms, so going organic would be best here so you avoid GMOs.

It is good to know of these things as many pure vegetarians consume cheese without knowing that it contains animal products like rennet. In fact, Mozzarella is just one example, but most cheese contain rennet, the exceptions being cream and cottage cheese from the main types. So if you are a strict vegetarian, check before you eat cheese. Most cheese in the market will contain rennet and many companies do not require to mention it. This is also true for cheese in pizzas as well.

Now, how about if you could make your own cheese?, that is raw, vegan and paleo as well :-).  I am calling it 'Mockzarella'. Obviously it is quick and easy to make. Of course, it can give you the nutritional benefits that your are expecting to get from eating mozzarella. I found this awesome recipe from a blog by a German couple. I am pretty much using their recipe with a slight modification. So here is the Raw Vegan Mockzarella :-).  As always try to use all organic ingredients.

  • Raw cashew nuts - 1/4 cup
  • Pure filtered water - 1/2 cup + 2 Tbs
  • Freshly squeezed lemon juice - 2 Tbs 
  • Psyllium husk - 1 Tbs 
  • Himalayan pink salt - a small pinch
Directions :
  • Mix the water and lemon juice, mix the psyllium husk into this and let it soak for a couple of hours.
  • Soak cashew nuts also for a couple of hours.
  • After the soaking, psyllium husk would be thick and gel-like.
  • Drain the cashews, add it along with the soaked psyllium husk & liquid, and salt  into a blender and blend them well.
  • Fill it in a glass jar, depending on what shape you would like your mockarella to be. In about 30 minutes, it should be stiff and sliceable.  

  • Slice and serve. Refrigerate leftovers.
  • Serve just as is, top it on your favorite pizza, or serve it on your salad.. be creative.
  • Enjoy!!


  1. Hi Mini,
    I'm sure many of us had no idea that mozzarella cheese is made using rennet, which is a complex of enzymes from the fourth stomach chamber of a calf. Ugh! Raw and vegan cheeses come in all tastes and types so thank you for sharing your awesome 'Mockzarella' recipe with us at the Healthy, Happy, Green and Natural Party Blog Hop! I can't wait to make this!

    1. Thanks Deborah !!
      Yes, I did not know about Rennet either, till recently.. glad I found out !!

  2. Today 80% to 90% of the rennet used in cheesemaking is made by microbial fermentation. Calves rennet is quickly becoming a thing of the past.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Hot'n'Sour Ash Gourd Soup

There are some vegetables that you take for granted as you get it in abundance, but then when you are in a place where you don't get it at all, that is when you really miss those simple pleasures in life. The ash-gourd, or the Kumbalanga as we call it in Malayalam (Poosanika in Tamil) is one such vegetable. Back home you use it almost every other day in a variety of ways. 
This time we decided to talk to our local farmer to grow some Indian vegetables that we really miss, especially eating them fresh from the farm. The list included okra, ash-gourd, long beans, bottle-gourd and ribbed-gourd.., and boy they did grow them really well. So back to the ash-gourds, they came up so well and we are having a wonderful time eating them, while also helping out our local farmer by consuming his produce. 
In Ayurveda and other traditional eastern medicine practices, ash-gourd is known to be used as a general tonic for its restorative properties. It is rich in many vitamins and minerals. It co…

Szechuan Shrimp and Cauliflower

Happy Chinese New Year!!! We are celebrating Chinese new year day with probably my first venture into Chinesecuisine. I decided to go with Szechuan region, which is known for the hot'n'spicy dishes. I had to make my own version of a Szechuan sauce to work with the ingredients that I had in my pantry and to stick to my quicknhealthy standards. I also made another even simpler everyday Chinese dish which is Chinese Okra and Egg Stir Fry, both served with rice. That is for another day and another post :-)

For Szechuan sauce:
Rice - 1 Tbs (soaked for a few hours)Red chilly - 4-5Garlic - 3-4 clovesNama shoyu - 2 TbsToasted sesame oil - 2 Tbs Apple cider vinegar - 1 Tbs Sea salt - as per taste Directions:
Using a mortar and pestle, crush/grind the soaked rice, garlic and red chilly to a paste. You can add a couple of tablespoons of water to aid the process. Transfer the paste to a small bowl, add the remaining ingredients and whisk well. For the main dish: 
Wild caught shrimp - about 10 …

Amaranth Upma for a Wholesome Spicy Breakfast

Amaranth is something new I am introducing to this blog. It is from the same amaranth family that we use as greens in India and many other parts of the world. Amaranth is not a grain, but is a seed and contains good protein which you cannot get from many other vegetable sources. Similar to other grain-like cereals/seeds, amaranth is good to include in your diet for a complete protein rich nutrition.

Now for today's recipe, I am posting something savory and spicy. I have been told a few times by readers that I post too many sweet things. Maybe because I am a sweet person ;-). So here is something spicy and cozy for a winter morning breakfast or brunch. It is wholesome, with good carb and protein from amaranth, good fat from coconut, and you can add your choice of veggies to make it more nutritious. 

Amaranth - 3/4 cup ( soaked overnight )Coconut oil - 1 TbsMustard seeds - 1 tspGreen chilly - 1-2Ginger - 1 inch pieceRed onion - 1Tomato - 1 medium Veggies - 1 cup (chopped) (optional)Sh…